Education, Culture and Employment (ECE)

Responsible for a wide-range of activities, including education, languages, culture, employment and income security. The department provides NWT residents with the opportunity to follow their educational goals and promotes lifelong learning. ECE oversees 50 schools in the NWT.

Environment and Natural Resources (ENR)

Works to protect and enhance environmental quality in the Northwest Territories through a number of programs, services and activities, including: biodiversity; land conservation; ecosystem classification; water strategy; management of hazardous substances; waste reduction and recovery (recycling); climate change; air quality; energy awareness; energy alternatives; energy efficiency; and environment assessment and monitoring. ENR provides a policy, planning and regulatory framework for the stewardship, protection and sustainable management of forest resources on 33-million hectares of land in the Northwest Territories.

Department of Executive and Indigenous Affairs (EIA)

Works to provide overall management and direction to the Executive branch of the Government of the Northwest Territories. The Department is responsible for: coordinating and supporting the planning, implementation, monitoring  and evaluation of initiatives and actions in support of cross-government goals. The department is also responsible for ensuring mutually respectful intergovernmental relations between the territorial government and Aboriginal, provincial, territorial, national and international governments are maintained, along with negotiating and implementing land resources and self-government agreements that address Aboriginal rights in the Northwest Territories.

Department of Finance (FIN)

Provides leadership and direction to the public service in all areas of finance and human resource management. This includes negotiating major financial arrangements with the federal government, providing analysis and advice to the Financial Management Board and ensuring that financial and information resources are managed effectively, efficiently and economically. Its mandate also includes the recruitment and retention of a competent public service that is representative of the people it serves and the development of programs and services that effectively serve the human resource needs of the public service.

Department of Health and Social Services (HSS)

Promotes, protects and provides for the health and well-being of the people of the Northwest Territories. Responsible for promotion and prevention programs, protection services, diagnostic and curative services, rehabilitation, continuing care, mental health and addictions services. There are eight health authorities in the NWT that oversee two hospitals and 38 health centres, clinics and/or units.

Industry, Tourism and Investment (ITI)

Interest in the Northwest Territories’ (NWT) resource potential has exploded since the 1990s when the discovery of diamonds initiated a new era of unprecedented economic growth – and, with it, the increased need for responsible and strategic planning and support for Northwest Territories’ businesses. The NWT produces 10,995,000 carats of diamonds a year valued at over 2 billion dollars. Since its inception in 2005, the Department of Industry, Tourism and Investment has focused on maximizing the potential of our territory’s tremendous resource base to provide a lasting benefit to our people and communities. The NWT welcomes 70,000 visitors a year. The NWT produces 27,489 fur pelts a year for a total value of $830,921.

Infrastructure (INF)

Provides high quality services to the public and GNWT departments, boards and agencies including the planning, design, construction, acquistion, operation and maintenance of public transportation infrastructure, and buildings, works and equipment  required for the GNWT to deliver its programs and services. INF makes essential petroleum products available for sale to the public where these products are not provided by the private sector and promotes the development and increased use of energy efficient technologies. INF also regulates electrical and mechincal safety services, and licenses individuals and vehicles operating in the NWT.

Department of Justice (DOJ)

Administers justice, including policing and corrections, in the Northwest Territories. Also responsible for Community Justice and Victims Services. The Courts of the Northwest Territories are organized and administered in a system similar to that of courts elsewhere in Canada, and are dedicated to giving the Northwest Territories’ public access to justice on the same standard as in courts in other parts of Canada.

Department of Lands (LANDS)

On April 1, 2014 the new Department of Lands was created to support, manage and administer the sustainable use of public land in the NWT.  The GNWT's existing responsibilities for managing Commissioner's Lands also transferred from Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA) to the Department of Lands.  The mandate of the Department of Lands is to manage, administer and plan for the sustainable use of public land in the Northwest Territories in a fair and transparent manner that reflects the interests of the people of the Northwest Territories.  

Legislative Assembly (LA)

There are 19 members of the Legislative Assembly, which includes the Premier of the Northwest Territories. They are elected as independents in their constituencies. They then elect a Speaker and the Executive Council or “Cabinet”, which consists of the Premier and six Ministers. 

Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA)

Works with community governments to provide a safe, sustainable and healthy environment for community residents. The department also promotes sport and recreation, development of youth, ensures compliance with safety standards, coordinates emergency services and protects consumer rights.

The Northwest Territories Housing Corporation (NWTHC)

The Northwest Territories Housing Corporation (NWTHC) provides access to adequate, suitable and affordable housing. Through the provision of housing programs and services, the NWTHC contributes to the health and education of NWT residents and to the development of sustainable, vibrant and safe communities.