Child and Youth Care Counsellor - Aklavik, Fort McPherson, Tuktoyaktuk and Ulukhaktok

Job Summary

Location: Across the NWT
Department: Northwest Territories Health and Social Services Authority
Job ID: 16699
Wage: See "Salary Information" below.
Employment Type: Full-Time, Regular
Closing Date: Open until filled

Department Information

The Northwest Territorial Health and Social Services Authority (NTHSSA) works under the direction of the Minister of Health and Social Services, in partnership with the Deputy Minister, Health and Social Services and the Health and Social Services regions, to support the health and wellbeing of people across the Northwest Territories through planning, development, deliver, evaluation and reporting on program and service delivery.

NTHSSA is committed to the development and provision of quality services in such a way as to make the best use of public resources, ensure the sustainability of the system, focus on client safety and best practices and promote positive health and social outcomes. NTHSSA strives to continually improve the health and social service system to ensure best health, best care, and a better future for the people of the NWT.

Our mission is to work with people to optimize wellbeing through the provision of collaborative and culturally appropriate health and social services.

Job Information

The Child, Youth and Care Counsellor reports to the Regional Clinical Supervisor, Mental Health and Addictions, Beaufort Delta and is part of a collaborative multi-disciplinary approach to the delivery of direct therapeutic services to support the needs of children, youth and their families.  This position ensures that therapeutic plans are developed, followed and are meeting the individual need of the child, youth and family.  The CYCC provides direct client care including individual and environmental assessment (with an emphasis on strengths and assets rather than pathology), intervention planning, individual, family and group counselling and referrals to other important service providers and agencies within the community. The CYCC collaborates with other community services including school principals, teachers, regional inclusive schooling coordinators, social workers, nurses, physicians, Community Health Representatives, RCMP, probation, Victim Services, and local Indigenous and Non-Government Organizations to provide a comprehensive, person and family centered approach to care. 

Typically, the above qualifications would be attained by a Master’s degree in Child and Youth Care, Counselling, Clinical Social Work or Education with a focus on therapeutic counselling.  Previous experience working in child and youth mental health and addictions is preferred. Relevant equivalencies will be considered. 

There are three vacant CYCC positions: one located in Aklavik, Fort McPherson and Tuktoyaktuk. These positions will work out of the school from September to June, and out of the Community Health Centre from July to August. 

Moose Kerr School (MKS) has approximately 161 students and is located in Aklavik. Aklavik is a multi-ethnic town, home to Inuvialuit, Metis, Gwich'in and non-aboriginal cultures. Situated on the west side of the Mackenzie Delta, approximately 1.6 degrees above the Arctic Circle, Aklavik was once considered the transportation, commercial and administrative capital of the Western Arctic.

Chief Julius School (CJS) has approximately 155 students and is located in Fort McPherson. Fort McPherson has a population of approximately 900. More than 80 per cent of the population is of Gwich'in descent. The economy of the community is primarily based on local businesses such as the local retail outlets, the Fort McPherson Tent & Canvas factory, a local trucking company, government services, and other private enterprises.

Mangilaluk School (MS) has approximately 245 students and is located in Tuktoyaktuk. Tuktoyaktuk/Tuk-tu-yaaq-tuuq (Inuvialuktun: resembling a caribou), is an Inuvialuit Hamlet of about 965 people which is located on the shores of the Arctic Ocean at the tip of the Northwest Territories. Formerly known as Port Brabant, the community was renamed in 1950 and was the first place in Canada to revert to the traditional Native name.

Helen Kalvak Elihakvik School has approximately 110 student and is located in Ulukhaktok. This community of about 400 people is located on the west coast of Victoria Island surrounded by the Beaufort Sea. Ulukhaktok, formerly known as Holman, is a very creative community full of traditional arts and craft artists where printmaking is a large part of the local economy. Ulukhaktok is home to the most northern golf course in the world, which hosts the annual Billy Joss Open tournament every July. 

GNWT Inquiries

Inquiries Only:
Inuvik HR Client Service Centre
Department of Finance
Government of the Northwest Territories
105 Veteran's Way, Alex Moses Greenland Building
Box 1869
INUVIK, NT  X0E 0T0
Ph. (867) 678-6600
Fax (867) 678-6620
E-mail:  jobsinuvik@gov.nt.ca

More Information

Equivalencies

Equivalent combinations of education and experience will be considered, such as:

Bachelor’s Degree in Child and Youth Care, Counselling, Clinical Social Work or Education with a focus on therapeutic counselling with two years of directly related experience or two years of Child, Youth Care Work; or,

Diploma in Child and Youth Care, Counselling, Clinical Social Work or Education with a focus on therapeutic counselling with four years of directly related experience or four years of experience in Child, Youth Care Work.

Salary Information

Salary for this position is currently Under Review.

Eligibility

Eligibility lists may be created from this competition to fill future term and indeterminate positions.

Criminal Records Check

Candidates must provide a satisfactory criminal record check. Failure to provide a satisfactory check may deem you disqualified from the competition.

Affirmative Action

Candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

Diversity and Inclusion

The Government of the Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace.  If you have a disability and you require support during the hiring process, you are encouraged to identify your needs if you are contacted for an assignment or interview so that you may be accommodated during the hiring process.

Job Opening Information

Job Opening ID # 16699       

Closing Date: Open Until filled

Conseiller en soins à l’enfance et à la jeunesse - Aklavik, Fort McPherson, Tuktoyaktuk et Ulukhaktok

Résumé du travail

Collectivité : Across the NWT
Ministère : L’Administration des services de santé et des services sociaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
No du concours : 16699
Salaire
Type d’emploi : Temps plein, Permanent
Date limite : Ouvert jusqu’à ce qu’un candidat qualifié soit trouvé.

Offre d'emploi

Renseignements sur l’organisme

Sous la direction du ministre de la Santé et des Services sociaux, en partenariat avec le sous-ministre et les administrations régionales des services de santé et des services sociaux, et pour favoriser la santé et le bien-être des Ténois, l’Administration des services de santé et des services sociaux des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (ASTNO) planifie, offre et évalue des programmes et des services, et présente des rapports à ce sujet.

L’ASTNO traduit son engagement à développer et à fournir des services de qualité en mobilisant les ressources publiques de façon optimale, en assurant la viabilité à long terme du système, en privilégiant la sécurité du client et les pratiques exemplaires ainsi qu’en favorisant les mesures qui ont des retombées positives sur la santé et la vie sociale. L’ASTNO cherche sans cesse à améliorer le système de santé et de services sociaux afin de garantir une santé optimale, des soins optimaux et un avenir prometteur pour les Ténois.

Notre mission consiste à travailler avec la population afin d’optimiser son bien-être en offrant des services sociaux et de santé axés sur la collaboration qui sont appropriés sur le plan culturel.

Renseignements sur le poste

Le titulaire relève du superviseur clinique régional des services en santé mentale et en lutte contre les dépendances de la région de Beaufort-Delta. Il fait partie d’une équipe pluridisciplinaire dont l’approche collaborative est axée sur la prestation de services thérapeutiques répondant directement aux besoins des enfants, des jeunes et de leur famille. Le titulaire s’assure que des plans thérapeutiques sont élaborés et suivis, et qu’ils répondent aux besoins de l’enfant, du jeune et de la famille. Le titulaire prodigue des soins directs, y compris une évaluation individuelle et environnementale (qui met l’accent sur les forces et les atouts plutôt que sur la pathologie), la planification de l’intervention, du counseling individuel, familial et de groupe, et l’aiguillage vers d’autres fournisseurs de service et organismes au sein de la collectivité. Le titulaire collabore avec d’autres intervenants et services communautaires, ce qui comprend les directeurs d’école, les enseignants, les coordonnateurs régionaux de l’intégration scolaire, les travailleurs sociaux, les infirmiers, les médecins, les représentants en santé communautaire, la GRC, les agents de probation, les services aux victimes de crime, ainsi que les organisations autochtones et non-gouvernementales locales afin d’offrir une approche globale, personnalisée et familiale des soins.

En règle générale, le candidat doit posséder une maîtrise en soins à l’enfance et à la jeunesse, en travail social clinique ou en éducation avec une spécialité en counseling thérapeutique. Il serait préférable d’avoir de l’expérience en santé mentale et en lutte contre les dépendances chez les enfants et les jeunes. Nous prendrons en considération les expériences équivalentes pertinentes.

Il y a trois postes de conseiller en soins à l’enfance et à la jeunesse d’ouverts, soit à Aklavik, Fort McPherson et Tuktoyaktuk. Le titulaire travaille à l’école pendant l’année scolaire, soit de septembre à juin, et au centre de santé communautaire en juillet et en août.

L’école Moose Kerr d’Aklavik compte environ 161 élèves. Aklavik est une collectivité multiethnique où cohabitent des Inuvialuits, des Métis, des Gwich’in et des Non-Autochtones. Située sur la rive ouest du delta du Mackenzie, à environ 1,6 degré au-dessus du cercle arctique, Aklavik était autrefois la capitale administrative, commerciale et maritime de l’Arctique de l’Ouest.

L’école Chief Julius compte environ 155 élèves et est située à Fort McPherson, une petite communauté d’environ 900 habitants. Plus de 80 % de sa population est d’origine gwich’in. Son économie repose essentiellement sur ses commerces, comme les détaillants locaux, le fabricant Fort McPherson Tent & Canvas, une entreprise locale de camionnage, les bureaux gouvernementaux et d’autres entreprises privées.

L’école Mangilaluk de Tuktoyaktuk compte environ 245 élèves. Tuktoyaktuk ou Tuk-tu-yaaq-tuuq (qui signifie « qui ressemble au caribou » en inuvialuktun) est un hameau inuvialuit de quelque 965 habitants baigné par l’océan Arctique, à l’extrémité des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. Connue auparavant sous le nom de Port Brabant, la collectivité a été renommée en 1950 et a ainsi été la première au Canada à revenir à son nom autochtone originel.

L’école Helen Kalvak Elihakvik compte environ 110 élèves et est située à Ulukhaktok. Cette collectivité d'environ 400 habitants est située sur la côte ouest de l'île Victoria, entourée de la mer de Beaufort. Anciennement appelée Holman, Ulukhaktok est une collectivité très créative forte de nombreux artistes traditionnels et d’artisans où la gravure tient une place privilégiée dans l’économie locale. Le terrain de golf le plus septentrional au monde se situe à Ulukhaktok, qui accueille le tournoi Billy Joss Open chaque mois de juillet.

Equivalences

Nous prendrons en considération toute combinaison équivalente de formation et d’expérience, par exemple :

  • un baccalauréat en soins à l’enfance et à la jeunesse, en counseling, en travail social clinique ou en éducation, avec une spécialité en counseling thérapeutique, ainsi que deux ans d’expérience pertinente directe ou deux ans d’expérience en intervention auprès des jeunes;

  • ou un diplôme en soins à l’enfance et à la jeunesse, en counseling, en travail social clinique ou en éducation, avec une spécialité en counseling thérapeutique, ainsi que quatre ans d’expérience pertinente directe ou quatre ans d’expérience en intervention auprès des jeunes.

Salaire

Le traitement est actuellement à l’étude.

Admissibilité

Nous pourrions établir des listes de candidats admissibles à partir de ce concours afin de pourvoir des postes permanents ou temporaires semblables.

Vérification du casier judiciaire

Les candidats doivent se soumettre à une vérification du casier judiciaire. À défaut de fournir une attestation satisfaisante, le candidat risque de se voir disqualifier du concours.

Programme de promotion sociale

Pour se voir accorder la priorité en vertu du programme de promotion sociale, les candidats doivent montrer clairement qu’ils y sont admissibles.

Diversité et inclusion

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est un milieu de travail ouvert à tous. Nous invitons les personnes ayant une incapacité qui nécessite des mesures d’adaptation à nous faire part de leurs besoins, si elles sont retenues pour une entrevue ou une évaluation, afin que l’on puisse prendre de telles mesures dans le cadre de la procédure d’embauche.

Renseignements sur le concours

No du concours : 16699

Date limite : Ouvert jusqu’à ce qu’un candidat qualifié soit trouvé.

 

Renseignements seulement :

Centre des services à la clientèle des ressources humaines d’Inuvik

Ministère des Finances

Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Immeuble Alex Moses Greenland

105, chemin Veterans

C. P. 1869

Inuvik NT  X0E 0T0

Téléphone : 867-678-6600

Télécopieur : 867-678-6620

Courriel : jobsinuvik@gov.nt.ca