Minister commits to reviewing 2008 French First Language Directive

YELLOWKNIFE (March 7, 2016) – Alfred Moses, the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment has committed to a comprehensive review of the 2008 Directive on the Enrolment of Students in French First Language Education Programs before the end of the 2015-16 school year. 

The Directive states that, unless otherwise approved by the Minister, only those students that are entitled to attend French-first language programs under Section 23 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms can be enrolled in a French-first language school in the Northwest Territories.

The Department of Education, Culture and Employment works closely with partners across the territory on all aspects of language preservation, promotion and educational programs. It is committed to working with the Commission scolaire and francophone community on numerous issues important to both partners, and aims to address gaps and build on the successes to date. 


“We, as a government, need to ensure that we meet our obligations under the Charter of Rights and Freedoms when providing French-first language education programs throughout the Northwest Territories, as well as having facilities open for all children. I would like to thank all the parents and families who have written letters to the Department about their concerns with the French-first language education programs and enrolment of students. I have communicated with the Commission scolaire that I have directed the Department to conduct a review of the 2008 directive.”

  • Alfred Moses, Minister of Education, Culture and Employment

“The CSFTNO is committed to fostering a good working relationship with the GNWT, and the review of the ministerial directive is a step in the right direction. By working with the CSFTNO, the GNWT is supporting the growth of a vibrant and diversified francophone community that contributes to the health and strength of the Northwest Territories.”

  • Simon Cloutier, President of the Commission scolaire francophone Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Quick Facts:

  • The Ministerial Directive on the Enrolment of Students in French First Language Education was last reviewed in 2008.
  • The Minister has committed to completing a review before the end of the 2015-16 school year.
  • There are two French first language schools in the NWT; École Boréale in Hay River and École Allain St-Cyr in Yellowknife.

Related Links:

Ministerial Media Inquiries:

Andrew Livingstone
Senior Cabinet Communications Advisor
Department of Executive
Government of the Northwest Territories
Box 1320 Yellowknife NT X1A 2L9
Tel: (867) 767-9140 ext. 11091
Cell: (867) 447-0443
Fax: (867) 873-0169

Departmental Media Inquiries:

Jacqueline McKinnon
Manager, Communications & Public Affairs
Education, Culture and Employment
Phone: (867) 920-6222