2016 Outstanding Volunteers Honoured in Yellowknife

YELLOWKNIFE (May 6, 2016) – The Government of the Northwest Territories is pleased to announce the 2016 Outstanding Volunteer Awards.  These annual awards provide an opportunity to show our appreciation to volunteers and volunteer organizations for their outstanding contributions in communities across the territory.

Recipients of the 2016 NWT Outstanding Volunteer Awards are:

  • Outstanding Elder Awards                     Dave Kellett, Yellowknife
  • Outstanding Youth Award                      Leona Berreault, Fort Liard
  • Outstanding Individual Award               Charlene Blake, Tsiighetchic
  • Outstanding Group Award                     Kamba Carnival Committee, Kátlodééche

MACA presents the Outstanding Volunteer Awards annually to individuals and groups who have helped improve the quality of life in the NWT through volunteerism.

Recognizing and celebrating volunteers who build sustainable, vibrant, safe communities is an important part of the priorities set out by the 18th Legislative Assembly for community wellness and safety.


“Celebrating and recognizing volunteers across the NWT is an important part of maintaining a sustainable volunteer presence in our communities. Municipal and Community Affairs (MACA) and our partner, the NWT Association of Communities (NWTAC), are always happy to recognize those who selflessly devote their time and effort to the betterment of their communities through volunteerism.”

  • Robert C. McLeod, Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs

Quick Facts

  • The judging criteria includes the following factors:
    • The duration (minimum of 100 hours) and impact of the volunteerism.
    • The number of years, months, and approximate number of volunteer hours the nominee committed to the activity.
    • The uniqueness and inclusiveness (involving others) of the nominee’s contributions and commitments.
    • Their leadership role in the community or organization.
    • The challenges and/or barriers the nominee had to overcome in order to achieve their goal. 
  • Every January, the Department of Municipal and Community Affairs calls issues an annual notice of the nomination deadline for the NWT Outstanding Volunteer Awards Program  in order to recognize the voluntary achievements and contributions made by volunteers in Northwest Territories  communities.
  • The recipients receive $500.00 to give to a volunteer organization of their choice as well as a certificate recognizing them for their efforts in building our communities through volunteering.

Related Links

Media Inquiries for the Department

Jay Boast
Communications and Website Advisor
Municipal and Community Affairs
Government of the Northwest Territories
Phone: (867) 767-9162 – extension 21044