Alfred Moses: The 62nd Annual Mine Rescue Competition

Yellowknife — May 30, 2019
Ministers' Statements and Speeches

Mr. Speaker, the Mine Rescue Competition has a strong history in the Northwest Territories.  The first event took place in 1957, and the competition has been growing every year.

 This weekend marks the 62nd Annual Mine Rescue Competition.  Teams will come together from mines all across the Territories to test their skills.

 There are six teams competing this year.  The teams are from Rio Tinto’s Diavik Diamond Mine; the Gahcho Kué Diamond Mine, owned by DeBeers Canada; TMAC Resources’ Hope Bay Gold Mine; the Meadowbank Gold Mine and the Meliadine Gold Project, both owned by Agnico Eagle Mines; and the Baffinland Iron Mine, owned by Baffinland Iron Mines Corporation.

 They will be testing their skills in firefighting, rope rescue and First Aid, among other events.

 As Minister responsible for the Workers’ Safety and Compensation Commission, I invite you all to join me in wishing good luck to those brave men and women who volunteer their time and risk their lives for the safety of others.  The whole territory walks away a winner, knowing that our friends and families at the mine sites are in the hands of safe, skilled and tested leaders.

 I also invite you and your families to come out to the Fieldhouse parking lot on June 1 from 8:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. to watch and cheer on the teams as they compete.  

Thank you, Mr. Speaker.