Fire Ban for all parks in the South Slave Region

Public Service Announcement

Yellowknife — July 21, 2023

Due to continued extreme fire danger and extraordinary weather conditions, a fire ban has been put into effect for all parks in the South Slave Region today prohibiting open fires. This fire ban follows the regional fire ban announced for all public and private lands in the South Slave Region.

Effective immediately and until further notice, a fire ban is now in place for:

  • 60th Parallel Territorial Park
  • Chan Lake Territorial Park
  • Dory Point Territorial Park
  • Fort Providence Territorial Park
  • Fort Smith/Queen Elizabeth Territorial Park
  • Hay River Territorial Park
  • Kakisa River Territorial Park
  • Lady Evelyn Falls Territorial Park
  • Little Buffalo Crossing Territorial Park
  • Little Buffalo Falls Territorial Park
  • McNallie Creek Territorial Park
  • Twin Falls Territorial Park

Camp stoves, enclosed BBQs and propane-fueled cooking and heating devices are permitted for use in NWT Parks. They must be placed within regulation fire pits and should not emit a flame more than 0.5 metres in diameter and 0.5 metres in height.

Information about fire bans and territorial park closures can be found under Park Advisories on the NWT Parks website.

You can also follow NWT Parks on twitter at @NWTParks or Facebook at for updates.


For more information, please contact:

Drew Williams

Asst. Director, Strategic Communications

Policy Planning Communications and Analysis

Industry, Tourism and Investment


Tel: (867) 445-3739