High Performance Athlete Grant Recipients Announced

News Releases

December 1, 2010 - The recipients of the 2010-2011 High Performance Athlete Grant were announced today by the Minister of Municipal and Community Affairs, Robert C. McLeod, and the president of the Sport North Federation, Richard Daitch.

“It is great to see so many northern athletes doing so well on the national and international scene,” said Minister McLeod. “We are proud of them all and hope that this grant will assist them in achieving their goals and aspirations and allow them to represent the NWT with pride.”

“The High Performance Athlete Grant program has been an excellent resource for our emerging athletes,” said Richard Daitch. “The support we provide will have a positive impact on the development of our best young athletes from the north, and I would like to congratulate all recipients on their hard work and wish them the best of luck in the coming year.”

The recipients for the High Performance Athlete Grant program for 2010-2011 are:

  • Jessie Loutit, Rowing (Fort Simpson)
  • Shaun MacPherson, Hockey (Fort Smith)
  • Sarah Daitch, Cross Country Skiing (Fort Smith)
  • Elizabeth Mawdsley, Biathlon (Fort Smith)
  • Brandon Thompson, Volleyball (Fort Smith)
  • Brendan Green, Biathlon (Hay River)
  • Cali Groenhyde, Hockey (Hay River)
  • Adrienne Schmalz, Soccer (Yellowknife)
  • Andy Williams, Hockey (Yellowknife)
  • Arran Ferguson, Soccer (Yellowknife)
  • Chad Hinchey, Volleyball (Yellowknife)
  • Hazem Shoblak, Athletics (Yellowknife)
  • Jan Barbier, Soccer (Yellowknife)
  • Molly Milligan, Snowboarding (Yellowknife)
  • Sarah Cannell, Soccer (Yellowknife)
  • Michael Gilday, Speed Skating (Yellowknife)
  • Jill Gilday, Speed Skating (Yellowknife)
  • Andrew Matthews, Snowboarding (Yellowknife)
  • Thompson D’Hont, Cross Country Skiing (Yellowknife)
  • Denise Ramsden, Cycling (Yellowknife)
  • Stefanie Miklosovic, Rowing (Yellowknife)
  • Chelsea Comeau, Basketball (Yellowknife)
  • James Williams, Hockey (Yellowknife)
  • Kathleen O’Brien, Hockey (Yellowknife)
  • Stephen Giovanetto, Swimming (Yellowknife)
  • Matthew Whiteford, Baseball (Yellowknife)

Through its investment in the High Performance Athlete Grant program, the Government of the Northwest Territories is working to build our future by promoting healthy, active living among children and youth. Improving the physical and mental well-being of our youth will create healthy, educated Northerners as envisioned in the 16th Assembly’s vision of Northerners Working Together.

More information on the High Performance Athlete Grant program can be found on the Department of Municipal and Community Affairs’ website: www.maca.gov.nt.ca.

For more information, contact:

Laura Gareau
Director, Corporate Affairs
Municipal and Community Affairs
Tel: (867) 873-7613