Nominations Open for 2021 NWT Ministerial Literacy Awards

Public Service Announcement

Yellowknife — June 10, 2021

The Department of Education, Culture and Employment (ECE), the Premiers of Canada Council of the Federation, and the NWT Literacy Council are pleased to be accepting nominations for the annual NWT Ministerial Literacy Awards. These awards provide an opportunity to honour the literacy achievements of youth and adult learners, exceptional educators, and organizations and businesses across the territory. 

Up to nine literacy awards may be given each year, including eight Ministerial Literacy Awards and the Premiers of Canada Council of the Federation of Literacy Award for the NWT.

Ministerial Literacy Awards include:

·       Youth Learner Literacy Award

·       Adult Learner Literacy Award

·       Youth Indigenous Language Champion Award

·       Outstanding NWT Educator Award

·       Outstanding Support for Literacy Development NWT Business Award

·       Second Language Learner Award

·       Supporting Literacy Through Technology Award

·       Outstanding Non-Profit Support for Literacy/Language Development

Nomination forms are available on ECE’s website. or contact Deana Twissell to assist at or 867 767-9309 ext 71375.

Deadlines for 2021:

·       July 15, 2021 - Premiers of Canada Council of the Federation of Literacy Award nominations due

·       August 20, 2021 – Ministerial Literacy Awards nominations due

This year the awards will be presented virtually.


For media requests, please contact:

Communications and Public Affairs

Education, Culture and Employment

Government of the Northwest Territories