Joint Communiqué: Intergovernmental Council Commemorates 10th Anniversary of the Devolution Agreement


Yellowknife (April 1, 2024) – The Intergovernmental Council on Land and Resource Management (IGC) acknowledges the 10th anniversary of the Devolution Agreement and the accompanying Intergovernmental Agreement on Lands and Resources Management. This was a historic milestone that provided the Northwest Territories with greater control over lands, resources, and programs, allowing for more responsive and effective decision-making that reflects the unique needs and priorities of the territory.

In 2014, the Devolution Agreement and the Intergovernmental Agreement were key in establishing the Intergovernmental Council, which provides for coordination and cooperation among public and Indigenous governments on lands and resources management.

Over the past decade, IGC members have found new ways to work together. Recognizing that it is necessary to work collaboratively to identify legislative priorities and develop lands and resources legislation and regulations in a spirit of consensus, the IGC developed an unprecedented legislative development protocol and applied it to the Forest Act, Protected Areas Act, Mineral Resources Act, and the Public Land Act.

The IGC recognizes that Devolution and co-management are ongoing processes. As we celebrate this 10th anniversary, we look ahead to continued collaboration to further strengthen our intergovernmental relationships and unlock the full potential of the Northwest Territories.




“As we mark the 10th anniversary of Devolution, our government to government relationships are more important than ever – for the co-management of land, water and resources under modern treaties and the Intergovernmental Agreement, and for all areas that our governments work in. As modern treaty partners, and partners in Devolution, the Tłı̨chǫ Government is committed to working with the GNWT and our Indigenous neighbours for the benefit of our Citizens and the whole NWT.”

-Jackson Lafferty, Tłı̨chǫ Grand Chief


“We are pleased to commemorate the first decade of the management of lands and resources in our respective regions of the Northwest Territories. The Devolution Agreement provided an opportunity for the Gwich’in Tribal Council to work with the other Indigenous signatories and the Government of the Northwest Territories to assume active management of these critical resources while working to protect and enhance the rights enshrined in the Gwich’in Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement. We look forward to continued dialogue and decisions that we will make together to shape a new and more sustainable future for the NWT.”

-Ken Kyikavichik, Grand Chief – Gwich’in Tribal Council


“As one of the signatory parties to Devolution, the Northwest Territory Métis Nation has worked hard to advance the government to government relationships for the co-development of new arrangements for the management of land and resources for the betterment of our Indigenous Métis members, Indigenous people and Northerners. We strive together to co-develop land and resource processes to advance the purposes of Devolution. We look forward to the continuation of the Intergovernmental processes to improve our government to government processes.”

-Garry Bailey, President, Northwest Territory Métis Nation


“April 2024 marks a significant milestone for the Northwest Territories (NWT) as we celebrate the 10-year anniversary of Devolution. The Government of the Northwest Territories would like to take this opportunity to thank IGC partners for the precedent-setting collaboration over this timeframe.

As the territory’s new government charts the course for the future, building better relationships between IGC partners and the GNWT will play a key role in the success of the territory’s communities and economy.

Let’s reaffirm our commitment to the principles of Devolution – self-determination, empowerment, and partnership. Together, we can build a strong, prosperous territory for generations to come.”

-R.J. Simpson, Premier of the Northwest Territories