Premier Cochrane announces change to the public service

News Releases

Yellowknife — February 14, 2023

Premier Caroline Cochrane has made the following change to senior management in the Northwest Territories public service.

Dr. Erin Kelly is appointed as Deputy Minister of the new Department of Environment and Climate Change, effective April 1, 2023. The Deputy Minister of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (ENR) since February 2020, Dr. Kelly played a key leadership role for the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) in bringing to successful conclusion negotiations to establish Thaidene Nëné and Ts’udé Nilįné Tuyeta.

In her role at ENR, Dr. Kelly has focused on building strong connections and partnerships between the GNWT and Indigenous governments and Indigenous organizations, communities, stakeholders and the public of the Northwest Territories.  She has led the implementation of a variety of successful programs, including the Climate Change Strategic Framework, NWT Water Stewardship Strategy, Waste Resource Management Strategy and Knowledge Agenda. She also played a leadership role in negotiations on behalf of the GNWT for several agreements related to transboundary water, conservation and caribou management.


"I look forward to working with Dr. Kelly in her new role. Her expertise and dedication will play a crucial role in ensuring that our government effectively executes its commitments to the people of the Northwest Territories. I am confident that Dr. Kelly will bring valuable experience and insight to her position and will help drive our mission to enhance the quality of life for all NWT residents."

- Caroline Cochrane, Premier of the Northwest Territories

Quick facts

  • Deputy Ministers are the non-elected head of a GNWT Department.
  • The Commissioner in the Executive Council appoints Deputy Ministers on the advice of the Premier.
  • Deputy Ministers serve at pleasure and are accountable to the Premier for their performance of their duties.

Related links

Public Service Act

For media requests, please contact:

Press Secretary
Government of the Northwest Territories