The Government of the Northwest Territories is focused on responding to the Public Health Emergency related to COVID 19. As a result, recruitment activities will be focused on ensuring that critical positions are staffed including, but not limited to positions in the health care sector and other essential areas. Please note, as a result of this change, you may experience slight delays in service. We thank you for your patience.

Indigenous Career Gateway Program

Job Summary

Location: Across the NWT
Department: Finance
Job ID: 15923
Wage: See "Salary Information" below.
Employment Type: Full-Time, Temporary
Closing Date: Open until filled

Job Information

The Government of Northwest Territories (GNWT) recognizes the importance of building a public service that is inclusive and reflective of the population it serves. We encourage applicants to voluntarily self-declare in the cover letter, resume or application if they are an indigenous Aboriginal person. The objective of the Indigenous Career Gateway Program is to target external Indigenous Aboriginal candidates for entry-level employment and trainee opportunities with the GNWT.

Indigenous Aboriginal Persons (IA)
Means those persons who are descendants of the Dene, Inuit or Metis people, indigenous to the present boundaries of the Northwest Territories and includes any Aboriginal persons resident at birth pursuant to Section 7.1 of the Vital Statistics Act and any Canadian Aboriginal persons who have lived more than half of their life in the Northwest Territories.

Documents Accepted as Proof of Affirmative Action Status:

  • Copy of treaty, Métis or beneficiary cards 
  • Letter from Aboriginal Organization you belong to

The Indigenous Career Gateway Program is designated for indigenous Aboriginal people and only those applicants who self-declare at the time of application and provide proof of affirmative action status, will be eligible for further consideration under this program.

Applicants will be entered into a database of candidates to be referred to departments as employment opportunities become available. As a condition of employment, candidates must be legally entitled to work in Canada. Specific qualifications will vary, depending on position requirements.  

Applicants with backgrounds in any of the following job categories:  finance, human resources, law, corrections, information technology, health, social services, engineering, policy, administration, management, transportation, education, trades, science and other fields are encouraged to apply. If candidates would like to be considered for specific categories, they are encouraged to indicate the applicable categories on their covering letter or resume. 

The Government of Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace.  If you have a disability and you require support during the hiring process, you are encouraged to identify your needs if you are contacted for an assignment or interview so that you may be accommodated during the hiring process.

Conditions of employment vary from position to position, but may include one or more of the following:

  • NWT Driver’s License
  • Criminal Records Check

We thank all who apply and advise that only those selected for further consideration will be contacted. Your resume will be kept in the database for 6 months.

For cover letter and resume writing tips please see: https://www.gov.nt.ca/careers/en/help

GNWT Inquiries

Inquiries Only:

Management and Recruitment Services
Department of Finance
Government of the Northwest Territories
Yellowknife Centre 5th Floor  
P.O. Box 1320, Yellowknife NT X1A 2L9
Fax: (867) 873-0445
careergateway@gov.nt.ca

More Information

Diversity and Inclusion

The Government of the Northwest Territories is an inclusive workplace.  If you have a disability and you require support during the hiring process, you are encouraged to identify your needs if you are contacted for an assignment or interview so that you may be accommodated during the hiring process.

Affirmative Action

Candidates must clearly identify their eligibility in order to receive priority consideration under the Affirmative Action Policy.

Le  gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest se concentre présentement sur l'état d'urgence sanitaire lié à la COVID-19. Pour cette raison, les activités de recrutement seront concéntrees sur la dotation de postes clés, comme des postes dans le secteur de la santé ou d'autres domaines essentiels. Il est possible, qu'en raison de ce changement, les services soient légèrement plus lents. Nous vous remercions de votre patience.

Programme d’accès aux carrières pour les Autochtones

Résumé du travail

Collectivité : Partout aux TNO
Ministère : Ministère des Finances
No du concours : 15923
Salaire
Type d’emploi : Temps plein, Temporaire
Date limite : Ouvert jusqu’à ce qu’un candidat qualifié soit trouvé.

Offre d'emploi

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest (GTNO) désire bâtir une fonction publique où chacun peut se reconnaître et se sentir accepté. C’est pourquoi nous encourageons les candidats autochtones à se déclarer comme tels dans leur lettre de présentation, leur CV ou leur candidature. Le Programme d’accès aux carrières pour les Autochtones vise à repérer les candidats autochtones intéressés par un stage ou un premier emploi au sein du GTNO.

Personnes autochtones originaires des TNO
Personnes d’ascendance dénée, inuite ou métisse, originaires des TNO, selon leurs frontières actuelles, y compris toute personne autochtone résidente à la naissance conformément à la section 7.1 de la Loi sur les statistiques de l’état civil et toute personne autochtone canadienne ayant vécu plus de la moitié de sa vie aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Documents acceptés:

  • photocopie des cartes de traité, de Métis ou de bénéficiaire;
  • Lettre de l'organisation autochtone à laquelle vous appartenez

Conçu expressément pour les Autochtones, le Programme est ouvert à tout candidat qui déclare son statut d’Autochtone dans sa candidature et en fournit la preuve.

Les candidats seront intégrés à une base de données qui sera transmise aux ministères qui ouvrent des postes. Pour être embauchés, les candidats doivent être légalement autorisés à travailler au Canada. Les qualifications exactes demandées varieront selon les exigences de chaque poste.

Nous encourageons les candidats des domaines suivants à envoyer leur candidature : finances, ressources humaines, droit, services correctionnels, technologies de l’information, santé et services sociaux, génie, politiques, administration, gestion, transports, éducation, métiers spécialisés, sciences et autres professions. Il est recommandé de spécifier dans sa lettre de présentation ou son CV son ou ses domaines de spécialisation afin d’être considéré plus spécifiquement pour ceux-ci.

Le gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest est un milieu de travail ouvert à tous. Nous encourageons les personnes ayant une incapacité qui nécessite des mesures d’adaptation à nous faire part de leurs besoins, si elles sont retenues pour une entrevue ou une évaluation, afin que l’on puisse prendre de telles mesures dans le cadre de la procédure d’embauche.

Les conditions d’emploi peuvent varier selon le poste, mais pourraient exiger ceci :
• Permis de conduire des TNO
• Vérification de casier judiciaire

Les candidatures seront conservées pendant 6 mois dans notre base de données. Nous remercions tous les candidats, mais prenez note que seuls les candidats retenus seront contactés.

Pour obtenir des conseils sur la lettre de présentation et la rédaction de CV, veuillez consulter: https://www.gov.nt.ca/careers/fr/menu-d%E2%80%99aide

Renseignements seulement :

Services de gestion et de recrutement
Ministère des Finances
Gouvernement des Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Yellowknife Centre, 5e étage
C. P. 1320, Yellowknife NT  X1A 2L9
Télécopieur : 867-873-0445
careergateway@gov.nt.ca