The Government of the Northwest Territories is focused on responding to the Public Health Emergency related to COVID 19. As a result, recruitment activities will be focused on ensuring that critical positions are staffed including, but not limited to positions in the health care sector and other essential areas. Please note, as a result of this change, you may experience slight delays in service. We thank you for your patience.

Yellowknife

With a population just over 20,000 people, Yellowknife is both the capital and only city in the Northwest Territories. Yellowknife sits on the North shore of Great Slave Lake and is the hub for much of the territory. The city is often referred to as the gateway to the North as it is the first stop for airlines arriving north from larger Canadian cities like Edmonton, Calgary, Ottawa and Vancouver. With the 2012 completion of the Deh Cho Bridge, Yellowknife as well as Behchokǫ̀ and Fort Providence are connected to the rest of Canada year round by road.


Yellowknife provides residents with many of the same amenities found in larger southern cities including a handful of big box stores and locally bred and inspired family-run businesses. Yellowknife also has three ice pads, two indoor soccer pitches, a curling club, community pool, indoor climbing wall and running track, a vibrant arts scene, and a community movie theatre with three big screens. Although Yellowknife is tucked away in northern Canada, it has a diverse culinary scene.


There are plenty of extracurricular activities for a wide variety of interests and the City of Yellowknife publishes a Recreation Guide outlining the programs organized by the city's municipal government. 


Yellowknife currently has eight elementary schools and two high schools with services offered in French, French Immersion and English for students from Junior Kindergarten to Grade 12.  An Aurora College campus is located in the city providing continuing education opportunities. 


Yellowknife is a welcoming community with an abundance of fresh air, vibrant arts and culture scene, and a variety of activities to keep families active, healthy and involved year round.

Yellowknife

Forte d’une population dépassant les 20 000 habitants, Yellowknife est à la fois la capitale des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et la seule collectivité au statut de ville. Yellowknife est située sur la rive nord du Grand lac des Esclaves et elle constitue un véritable carrefour pour le territoire. On l’appelle souvent la porte d’entrée du Nord, étant donné que les compagnies aériennes de villes canadiennes plus grandes comme Edmonton, Calgary, Ottawa et Vancouver y font escale. Depuis l’ouverture du pont de Deh Cho en 2012, Yellowknife ainsi que Behchokǫ̀ et Fort Providence sont reliées au reste du pays par la route toute l’année.

On trouve à Yellowknife la plupart des infrastructures de base dont sont dotées les villes du sud, notamment des grandes surfaces et des entreprises familiales locales. Yellowknife compte par ailleurs trois patinoires, deux terrains de soccer intérieurs, un club de curling, une piscine, un mur d’escalade et une piste de course intérieurs, une scène artistique dynamique et un cinéma de trois salles. Bien que Yellowknife soit isolée au nord du Canada, elle offre une scène culinaire diversifiée. 

Il y a des activités pour tous les goûts et la ville de Yellowknife publie un guide des activités récréatives décrivant les programmes mis en place par l’administration municipale. 

Yellowknife compte actuellement huit écoles primaires et deux écoles secondaires qui offrent une éducation en français, en immersion et en anglais de la prématernelle à la 12e année. Un campus du Collège Aurora est installé au centre-ville et offre des programmes d’études postsecondaires.

Yellowknife est une collectivité accueillante qui ne manque pas d’air frais, qui possède une scène artistique et culturelle dynamique et qui offre des activités diversifiées toute l’année pour la santé et le plaisir des familles.