Awards acknowledge and celebrate achievements in literacy in NWT

News Releases

Yellowknife — February 23, 2021

Recipients of the Council of the Federation Literacy Award and the NWT Ministerial Literacy Awards were honoured virtually today.

Created in 2002 by the Minister of Education, Culture and Employment, the NWT Literacy Awards honour the literacy achievements of youth and adult learners, exceptional educators, and organizations and businesses across the territory.

The Council of the Federation Literacy Awards, established in 2004, celebrate the valuable contributions made by Canadians in the field of literacy, as well as adult learners who demonstrate an exceptional commitment to literacy. One medal is awarded in each province or territory every year.

The 2020 recipients are:

  • Delores Vittrekwa, Fort McPherson – Council of the Federation Literacy Award
  • Cassidy Lennie-Ipana and Mataya Gillis, Inuvik – Ministerial Youth Learner Literacy Award
  • Susan Chaffee, Yellowknife – Ministerial Adult Learner Literacy Award
  • Dwayne Drescher “Adjgaliaq”, Inuvik – Ministerial Outstanding NWT Educator Award
  • Javaroma Gourmet Coffee and Tea, Yellowknife – Ministerial Outstanding Support for Literacy Development NWT Business Award
  • William Maltus, Yellowknife – Ministerial Second Language Learner Award
  • Jim Stauffer, Whatì – Ministerial Supporting Literacy Through Technology Award
  • Deninu Kųę́ First Nation, Deninu Kųę́ First Nation (Fort Resolution) – Ministerial Outstanding Non-Profit Support for Literacy/Language Development Award


“It is an honour to celebrate the excellence of our winners and all they have achieved. Literacy skills in any and all of our Official Languages are crucial to daily living, employment, citizenship, personal advancement and life enjoyment. I offer my sincere congratulations to all of this year’s recipients.”

- R.J. Simpson, Minister of Education, Culture and Employment

Related links


Media Requests, please contact:

Melissa Bannister

Senior Communications Advisor

Department of Education, Culture and Employment