Yellowknife – April 25, 2019
Public Service Announcement

The Department of Health and Social Services announces changes to the Medical Travel Program effective June 1, 2019. NWT residents have access to one of the most generous medical travel programs in Canada, which has remained relatively unchanged since 1995. To bring the cost-share of medical travel costs into alignment with current travel costs of the Medical Travel Program, adjustment to the co-payment rate is being made.


April 25, 2019
News Releases

The Prince of Wales Northern Heritage Centre was recognized last week with a Canadian Museums Association (CMA) Award for Outstanding Achievement in an Exhibition.


The exhibit We Took Care of Them: Special Constables in the NWT  honours Indigenous northerners who worked as Special Constables with the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP). Seamstresses, guides and interpreters are also recognized for their contributions to police work. By sharing the skills needed to live and work in the north, local people often made the difference between life and death to the RCMP.

Behchokǫ̀ – April 23, 2019

Premier Bob McLeod, Minister Wally Schumann, Minister Alfred Moses and Minister Glen Abernethy of the NWT Executive Council met with the Tłı̨chǫ Government Grand Chief George Mackenzie, Chief Clifford Daniels, Chief David Wedawin, Chief Charlie Football in Behchokǫ̀ on Tuesday, April 16, 2019.


The meeting focused on areas of mutual interest, including:


Yellowknife – April 18, 2019
News Releases

Premier Bob McLeod today announced the appointment of Mr. Sandy Kalgutkar as Associate Deputy Minister of Infrastructure. Mr. Kalgutkar will assume his position effective May 13, 2019.


In his new role, Mr. Kalgutkar will be responsible for leading the development and implementation of major infrastructure projects of critical significance to the long-term economic health of the Northwest Territories, including Taltson Hydro Expansion, Slave Geological Province Corridor, and Mackenzie Valley Highway.


Yellowknife – April 17, 2019
News Releases

Economic diversification and job creation are key to ensuring a strong and resilient economy in the North. This is why the Government of Canada is investing $2.7M in nine economic development projects in the Northwest Territories (NWT).


This announcement was made today by Michael McLeod, Member of Parliament for Northwest Territories, on behalf of the Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development and Minister responsible for CanNor.


April 15, 2019
Media Advisory

Ministerial Travel


Please note that travel schedules may change with little or no notice. This schedule is accurate as of April 15, 2019.


Norman Wells – April 12, 2019

Cabinet Members of the 18th Legislative Assembly and Premier Bob McLeod met with the Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated Chairperson Charles McNeely, presidents of the Sahtu Land Corporations, and the Sahtu Dene Council Chiefs in Norman Wells, NT on Wednesday, April 10, 2019.

This was the sixth meeting of the Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated (SSI) and the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) since they signed the Intergovernmental Memorandum of Understanding in June 2015. 

The meeting focused on areas of mutual interest, including:

Yellowknife – April 12, 2019
News Releases

The Northwest Territories Liquor and Cannabis Commission (NTLCC) recently changed its approach to liquor distribution within Yellowknife as the contract for the Yellowknife Liquor Warehouse expired.


While these changes result in lower prices overall, an unintended consequence of the change was higher costs for liquor license holders. To mitigate the impact of these increases, the NTLCC have implemented a discount program for liquor license holders to mitigate the impact of any increases. The discount program will be extended to liquor license holders across the NWT.

Fort Smith – April 12, 2019

Fort Smith (April 11, 2019) – Cabinet Members of the 18th Legislative Assembly, Premier Bob McLeod, Minister Caroline Cochrane and Minister Wally Schumann met with the Salt River First Nation Chief Frieda Martselos, Council members Melvin Fortier, Ray Tourangeau, Chris Hunter and Council members-elect Warren Gagnon and Warren Sikyea in Fort Smith on Monday, April 8th, 2019.  

Norman Wells – April 11, 2019

A Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) was signed today by the Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) and Sahtu Secretariat Incorporated (SSI) for the advancement of the Mackenzie Valley Highway (MVH) project.


Wally Schumann, Minister of Infrastructure and Charles McNeely, SSI Chair signed the MOU during the GNWT-SSI bilateral meeting today in Norman Wells.


The MOU outlines how the GNWT and SSI will cooperate on the advancement of the MVH project through the environmental review and regulatory processes.