Learn about the NWT's Conservation Network

Łue Túé Sųlái

What is Łue Túé Sųlái?

Łue Túé Sųlái (Clue-way Two-eh Tsu-lie) is also known as the Five Fish Lakes. It includes Ezáa Łue Túe (Ekali Lake), Tł’onie Túé (Sanguez Lake), Tłįtętįį (Gargan Lake), Dechį Náʔa (Deep Lake) and Tthets’éhk’e’ (McGill Lake). The area is located in the Dehcho Region near Jean Marie River and is approximately 180 km² in size.

Jean Marie River First Nation has proposed Łue Túé Sųlái as a protected area to ensure future generations remain connected to their culture and history.

Most of the Łue Túé Sųlái area is temporarily protected through the Dehcho region interim land withdrawal in place as part of the ongoing land, resources and self-government agreement negotiations and in effect until December 31, 2020.

Łue Túé Sųlái
Photo credit: Pat Kane

Why is it important?

  • Łue Túé Sųlái once held historic permanent camps and there are several traditional trails, burial sites and stories associated with the area. These lakes have been used by the Jean Marie River First Nation, as well as other Dehcho First Nations, for countless generations for traditional activities such as hunting, fishing and gathering, and they continue to be used today.
  • Łue Túé Sųlái provides important freshwater and terrestrial habitat for several species of fish, wildlife and ducks, and is an important area for medicinal plants.
  • Łue Túé Sųlái provides important educational opportunities for future generations and visitors to be acquainted with the area’s significant cultural heritage sites.
  • Łue Túé Sųlái supports the development of sustainable economic opportunities, such as tourism, and allows for the continuation of the traditional economy.


  • 2007 - Dehcho First Nations supports Jean Marie River First Nation (JMRFN) to advance Łue Túé Sųlái through the conservation planning process under the Protected Areas Strategy (PAS).
  • 2010 - The Government of the Northwest Territories (GNWT) accepts the JMRFN PAS proposal to sponsor the planning process towards the establishment of Łue Túé Sųlái as a protected area.
  • 2011 - A working group is established inclusive of JMRFN, Dehcho First Nations, Łı́ı́dlı̨ Kų́ę́ First Nation, GNWT and other stakeholders. The working group oversees assessments of the area’s cultural, ecological and economic values and will provide recommendations on boundaries, management and designations in a working group report.
  • 2012-2015 - Assessments are completed, including the archaeological, cultural, ecological, renewable and non-renewable resource assessments, and the socio-economic assessment.

Next steps

  • The next step is for the Working Group to complete a report containing an agreed-upon approach to meet conservation goals for Łue Túé Sųlái.
  • Once the new protected area legislation is complete, a designation will be chosen by the Working Group and included in the Working Group report, concluding the planning process for the Łue Túé Sųlái Candidate Area.
  • The GNWT will continue to recognize and respect Aboriginal rights, including requirements of land, resources and self-government agreements.

Map of the consultation boundary

Łue Túé Sųlái Candidate Area

Additional resources